Nearly everyone is aware that online reviews have become the new word of mouth. Whether you want to get a new haircut, fix up your bike, or check out that Italian restaurant your friends go on and on about, often the first thing you'll do is look the place up.

But when anyone with an internet connection can twist the truth with the sole purpose of taking revenge or tearing down the business, there’s a myriad of fake evaluations. Luckily, we sometimes get a taste of sweet justice when the business owners themselves stumble upon these falsehoods and choose to do everyone a public service by rightfully calling them out.

To celebrate their clap-back replies, members of the Quit Your BS subreddit decided to document their attempts to protect their reputation and share screenshots with the whole community. Below, you’ll find some of the best responses Bored Panda has collected from the page, so continue scrolling and upvote the ones you enjoyed reading the most!

#1

Came Across This While Looking For Reviews To A Local Tattoo Studio

kaboomeh Report

Dan Padgett
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

A link to the business would be nice. This company deserves support for the stance they have taken. If you are gonna profit (BoredPanda) then the least you can do is state who the company is.

View More Replies...
View more comments
#2

Fake-Reviews-Debunked

CallingYouForMoney Report

Jo Johannsen
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

The barber's response was civil and to the point. I hope prospective customers take this customer's review with a grain of salt.

View More Replies...
View more comments
#3

Twitter User Claims They Visited A Coffee Shop Just After Ryan Reynolds Left. A Trustworthy Source Then Responds To Debunk It.

justinmillerco Report

Dan Padgett
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

Haha, love Ryan Reynolds. Such a decent dude.

Mama Panda
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

Can someone explain why people like this dickweenie lie about experiences and then tag someone who could expose them? I just don't get it.

LeeBreezy
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

now, here me out. maybe a look alike went around atlanta and pretended to be ryan reynolds, and the guy in the post didnt know, nor did the staff.

Load More Replies...
Black Pearl
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

I just love it when celebrities call people out for saying things like that

Vicky Z
Community Member
7 months ago (edited) Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

OK maybe there is a doppelganger in Atlanta then😅

Ara
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

Well. Safe to say, they didn’t get his order wrong.

Eliza May
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

Don't be too harsh, the guy has a blue twitter check too, and he is nice from what I can see in his tweets. Genuine mistaken ID I think.

Lorrie Rothstein
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

Why did this guy lie about Ryan Reynolds being in the coffee shop ?

TyrantrumGogoat
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

Why lie about something that could easily be proved wrong?

Mochi
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

People will lie about the most obvious things. It's not just children, it's adults too

Load More Replies...
Alana Voeks
Community Member
7 months ago (edited) Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

He went into my Whataburger I worked in once and dudes! He's such a crazy and nice dude! I told him he looked like the guy who plays Deadpool (I didn't realize it was Ryan Reynolds) and he just looked at me and said "you know, I haven't heard that in a while!" His manager was not pleased with his antics lmao

CammyCat
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

I still remember his first show: 2 guys, a girl and a pizza place. Didn’t last long, but I thought it was funny

Samantha Whitley
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

I LOVED that show 😍. Everyone looks at me like I'm crazy when I talk about it and act like I made it up lol. I'm frustrated that none of the streaming apps have added it. I will literally watch anything that has Ryan Reynolds in it 😍.

Load More Replies...
Ozymandias73
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

Can't get it wrong if he wasn't there

Noir Tam
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

A Canadian responding to a self-claimed Canadian in a Canadian way 😂

Rad Roxxy
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

I swooned an old woman swoon 😅

UDERSERVELOVE!
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

If your gonna lie about a celebrity, don't tag them.

MJ
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

Haha...made me snort

Amanda Mckinney
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

They should have expected that when they tagged Mr Reynolds in their comment.. dude has less of a filter than im accussed of having and with all the humor i dont have and I'm here for it...

Alisha R.
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

lmao 🤣🤣🤣 this is great 👍🏽

Flying Panda
Community Member
7 months ago

This comment has been deleted.

View More Replies...
View more comments

To learn more about this false review phenomenon and the questionable tactics some raters and commenters use today, we reached out to Curtis Boyd, founder of The Transparency Company. They strive to help consumers work with higher quality businesses with real feedback by predicting whether a business has earned their reviews or paid for them.

"A bad review can make or break a business," he told Bored Panda. "They can have a profound impact, especially if they are detailed and describe a terrible first-person consumer experience."

"People read online reviews because they know what they want, but are shopping for experiences that they want for themselves. When they read experiences that don't align with their wishes, they will easily search elsewhere," he added.

#6

Fake-Reviews-Debunked

Trazer854 Report

Vicky Z
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

Hahaha please contact our imaginary staff!!! Perfect

View More Replies...
View more comments

In theory, online reviews should be forthcoming and provide real information about the places people wish to visit, services they want to try, or products they plan to buy. But just like the internet can be an endless source of wonder, it's a pretty shady place as well.

The yearly Local Consumer Review Survey analyzes how consumers use online reviews to select, trust, and understand companies offering services or products in their local area. It found that 49% trust consumer reviews as much as personal recommendations from friends and family. Considering that this number was much higher in 2020 (79% to be exact), it reveals the public’s trust in online reviews has significantly dropped, and fake reviews seem to be one of the leading causes of their doubts.

More than half of consumers, 62%, believe they've seen a fake review for a local business last year. The top three reasons that make them believe the posted feedback might be false are when it is over-the-top in its praise, it is anonymous or uses an obvious pseudonym, and when there are many other evaluations similar in content. So curiously, this shows that potential clients are probably more cautious of positive fake reviews than negative ones.

#7

Restaurants Replying To Bad Reviews 

Yoda1PositivityStar Report

Andy Acceber
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

It reminds me of the surge of Yankee Candle reviewers complaining the candles suddenly have no smell.

View More Replies...
View more comments
#8

Woman Writes A Fake Bad Review, Gets Called Out By Restaurant Owner

BRANN0N Report

troufaki13
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

No! Don't drag cats into this!! She doesn't deserve cats!!

View More Replies...
View more comments

Boyd told Bored Panda that people normally leave fake reviews because they were hired to. "In 2019, Google removed 55 million fake reviews. In 2020, Google removed 75 million fake reviews. In 2021, Google removed 95 million fake reviews (that's 260,000 per day) — in my opinion, it's just the tip of the iceberg. Most of them were positive, that violated their 'TOS' [Terms of Service]," he revealed. "Buying fake reviews is a multi-billion dollar industry that most people are completely unaware of."

#11

Fake-Reviews-Debunked

reignofterr0r Report

Trish Smith
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

WOW! How ignorant can some people be? I'm glad he was fired!!

View More Replies...
View more comments

If you’re wondering how to spot them online, Boyd explained it can be easily done on sites like Google and Yelp by clicking on the profile. Then, it's time to put our thinking caps on and raise a couple of questions: "I ask myself, is there a nice diversity of businesses they have written reviews for (cafe, shoe stores, etc.)? Or are they all home service businesses?" He added that the lack of category diversity shows an "agenda".

Boyd also looks at where these people are writing reviews for businesses. "Does it look normal? Are others writing reviews for the sample businesses? Are others hiding their reviews using Google's anonymous feature?" If any of the answers to these questions are positive, he warned that it's a huge red flag.

#13

Fake-Reviews-Debunked

takeawaytrauma Report

Kimi Tomminello
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

Same thing happened at a pho shop near me. I was having lunch with a friend there and this tourist from California started yelling at the server "This isn't real pho!! I'm from San Francisco and I know REAL pho!!" Needless to say this pho shop has been around for decades and is still run by the Vietnamese family that started it using their families unique recipe (brought over from Vietnam). She got dirty looks from all the regulars and one guy told her to go back to Cali. She paid and stormed off and everyone's day went on. I tipped a bit extra that day. Nobody deserves to be treated like that.

View More Replies...
View more comments

As you’re scrolling through this compilation of screenshots, you’ll notice there are plenty of vengeful people online ready to leave bogus customer reviews. Such feedback might shatter the reputation a business has worked so hard to achieve. So no wonder when someone gives a restaurant or a shop a 1-star rating, some owners feel this irresistible impulse to react and fill everyone in on the big picture.

"Responses are important, and yes, it is important to call them out and say that the experience described isn't real," Boyd explained. "Responses give the owner a chance to brag about the typical customer experience they've been delivering for X number of years."

#16

Fake Review On My Favorite Exotic Pet Fish Store (Plecostomus Need Really Big Fish Tanks Because They Can Grow To Be A Foot Long)

ItzPayDay123 Report

finisz
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

DIE and DEAD... the two words, what you were looking for.

View More Replies...
View more comments

Unfortunately, the Local Consumer Review Survey found that only 26% of respondents would believe business owners who reply to reviews to call out any false accusations. So while responding to bogus claims is meaningful, it might not be enough. Owners should still go through the proper available channels to get fake reviews reported and removed.

See Also on Bored Panda

When asked whether there are any other things businesses could do to fight false customer reviews, Boyd suggested visiting online forums like Local Search Forum, and Google Business Profile Support. He also advised you, dear readers, not to take reviews at face value. Remember that when it comes to this place we call the internet, it’s best to take everything with a little pinch of salt.

#23

Fake-Reviews-Debunked

Chiss5618 Report

#24

Restaurant Owner Wasn't Having It.

PmMeBeer Report

Terry Tobias
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

That's a good bartender right there. Some would have kept serving; I used to wait tables so I know.

View More Replies...
View more comments
#26

Dude Forgot To Mention His Drunk And Disorderly Friends And The Eight Pizzas They Brought To This Restaurant In His Review.

Sargatanus Report

finisz
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

Nope, other restaurants would kick their asses out at the very moment, the pizzas ordered from outside arrived. These guys were too nice.

View more comments
#27

Rude Is As Rude Does

scistudies Report

Cartoon Fan Girl
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

I would have given up on "S" after the 2nd attempt, the owner was being really nice to that person.

View More Replies...
View more comments
#29

Yelper Isn't Happy With His Brake Repair Service, Is Called Out By The Owner Of The Company

freeballintompetty Report

See Also on Bored Panda
#33

Angry Customer Doesn't Understand Fraud And Fake Reviews

daslederhosen Report

Wang Zhuang
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

I don't know why, but something about "I won't stand for it" made me laugh

View More Replies...
View more comments
#34

Guy Tries To Leave A Fake Google Review At A Turkish Dental Clinic With Very High Ratings, Gets Called Out.

MomoYaseen Report

David Henry
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

F**k whoever SS this w/o the full review.

View more comments
#35

Friend Of Disgruntled Ex Employee Leaves Fake Review, Gets Called Out.

you-know-poo Report

kathryn stretton
Community Member
7 months ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

Many pets can't handle even the best care if left. You can't explain to them you are coming back as they don't understand you! They can pine, and not eat anyway despite the kennel's best efforts. Sad but true. You should start kenneling your pet on a regular basis from when it is very young, from short periods (even for1day) then build up, even for no reason and it's not needed.Then, when you do go on holiday later, the pet knows you will return. Don't get a pet then put it in care after having it years and expect it not to feel abandoned. Your fault.

View More Replies...
View more comments

Note: this post originally had 107 images. It’s been shortened to the top 35 images based on user votes.