With so many people shopping online these days, the expectation vs reality meme doesn’t surprise anyone anymore. Most popular ecommerce sites, like Aliexpress and Etsy, are notorious for selling goods that look a far cry from the airbrushed pictures they advertise them with. In fact, online shopping fails have gained popularity in their own right, with many social media accounts and content creators sharing their own no-good orders for everyone’s entertainment.

A TikTok account that goes by the handle @funny.shein.reviewss is one such page that has been sharing video compilations of pics of very questionable items people bought on Shein. Founded in 2008 by Chris Xu in Nanjing, China, the company is known for its “affordably priced apparel,” but I guess you pay the other kind of price after unpacking that order.

Below we selected some of the most hilarious examples shared on this TikTok account, so don’t forget to hit upvote as you scroll through!

#1

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

tomchambers
Community Member
5 months ago

2nd wore it best.

View More Replies...
View more comments

The Chinese fast fashion retailer Shein has been notorious for making the headlines, not always for good reasons. Many artists and designers have been speaking openly about Shein blatantly stealing their designs. On top of that, it became widely infamous for murky ethics and anti-sustainability. Shein’s inhumanly fast turnaround and presumed slave labor should be enough to repel shoppers, but that’s not the case.

Founded as wedding dress retailer "Sheinside" in 2008 by Chris Xu, SHEIN became a global phenomenon for its data-driven reach and hyper fast production cycle. And when we say hyper we really mean it. The online-only retailer releases between 500 and 2,000 products on average every single day, while its fellow competitors like Fashion Nova and Missguided, in comparison, manage only 1,000 a week.

#2

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

River Webb
Community Member
5 months ago

"releasing your inner beauty!"

View More Replies...
View more comments
#3

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

MarmotArchivist
Community Member
5 months ago

That's funny looking cat you got there. And it isn't even white like advertised.

View More Replies...
View more comments
#4

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

ᴀʟᴇxᴏᴛʟ_ᴛʜᴇɢʀᴇᴀᴛ
Community Member
5 months ago

i like big pugs and i cannot like, you other doggies can’t deny

View More Replies...
View more comments

Despite its obviously problematic aspects and tons of controversies, Shein has still managed to virtually conquer the world with a whopping $100 billion valuation, announced in early April. But when it comes to consumers who shop at the hyper fast fashion retailers like Shein, not everyone is impressed with the item they receive. Expectation vs reality has clearly become a meme in the recent years with shoppers sharing their order fails that, in reality, look little if anything like the pictures on the website.

To find out more about this widely spread phenomenon, the questionable tactics of hyper fast fashion retailers and the key role the internet plays in this instant consumerism, we spoke with Lina Survila. Lina is a founder and editor in chief of the online cultural magazine “Abstract Stylist,” and a former L’Officiel fashion editor with a decade-long experience in fashion.

#5

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

Lord Mysticlaw
Community Member
5 months ago

That's actually pretty good

View More Replies...
View more comments
#6

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

Rijkærd
Community Member
5 months ago

Is he praying for this nightmare to end?

View More Replies...
View more comments
#7

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

Amy Pattie
Community Member
5 months ago

He definitely wore it better

View More Replies...
View more comments

“We are all visual people,” Lina told Bored Panda and added that “with the booming e-commerce marketplaces selling fast fashion, people usually get very disappointed with what they order and what they actually get.”

Moreover, photo editing is nothing new for brands on platforms like AliExpress or Etsy. “Sometimes, the seller lists the original photo from a fashion house but actually sells a copy. It might be that one of the biggest marketplaces online, Shein, will reach a valuation of $100 billion this year. Although, it seems that not all Shein shoppers feel that the brand is selling what it promised them,” Lina said.

#8

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

hiImaira
Community Member
5 months ago

bro i think your dog is possesed

View More Replies...
View more comments
#9

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

Iampenny
Community Member
5 months ago

E.T.

View More Replies...
View more comments
#10

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

River Webb
Community Member
5 months ago

cod these slides be any fishier?

View More Replies...
View more comments

“Internet culture shaped a different style, a social media-appropriate style dictated by the world’s biggest influencers. To be the first to copy the style of a trending outfit, you have to work very fast. And with fast comes the price of quality.” On the other hand, Lina argues, shoppers shouldn't expect a lot for such small prices. Shein’s prices are very low, with the retailer’s official website listing T-shirts, trousers and dresses for $3, $7 and $13 respectively, which is often 50% or lower than the cost of similar products from other prominent fast fashion brands such as Inditex-owned Zara.

#11

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

Rijkærd
Community Member
5 months ago

Channeling the inner XMEN

View More Replies...
View more comments
#12

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

Nathaniel
Community Member
5 months ago

Should we discuss the elephant in the room?

View More Replies...
View more comments
#13

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

ᴀʟᴇxᴏᴛʟ_ᴛʜᴇɢʀᴇᴀᴛ
Community Member
5 months ago

run along now,💅𝙛𝙧𝙖𝙣𝙘𝙚𝙨𝙘𝙖💅. me and my partner have business to attend to, only for people worthy, like us. and don’t refer to me as ‘it’. would you call van gogh ‘it’ 💅𝙛𝙧𝙖𝙣𝙘𝙚𝙨𝙘𝙖💅 ?? just refer to me as ‘he’, ‘she’ , or ‘godly being’

View More Replies...
View more comments

Lina explained that marketing plays a big role in promoting the dream or something that is way better in the picture than in real life. “To catch people’s attention is hard work, so a few Photoshop touches might help to do that and make people buy, but not necessarily come back,” she said and added to not “believe everything you see on the internet, and if the dress looks perfect for an unbelievably small price, I am sure it’s too good to be true.”

#14

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

Tomasz Jackowski
Community Member
5 months ago

Is that Sid from Ice Age?

View More Replies...
View more comments
#15

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

DUN DUN (she/her)
Community Member
5 months ago

I want to wear this on a zoom call and blow peoples' minds when I take them off physically. Yes you got it, it's not a filter bish!

View More Replies...
View more comments
#16

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

Brihanna Colton
Community Member
5 months ago

huh

View More Replies...
View more comments

“Before buying, I suggest Googling the brand, reading other people’s comments on it, and, if possible, checking on Instagram if anyone tagged a photo of themselves wearing the brand,” Lina said and concluded by reminding shoppers to never trust a price that is too cheap.

#17

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

Foxxy (The Original)
Community Member
5 months ago

I would not have guessed he was wearing wig.

View More Replies...
View more comments
#18

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

Rijkærd
Community Member
5 months ago

Different body sizes...

View More Replies...
View more comments
See Also on Bored Panda
#19

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

Rabbit Carrot
Community Member
5 months ago

They look very uncomfortable but he got what he ordered at least.

View More Replies...
View more comments
#20

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

DUN DUN (she/her)
Community Member
5 months ago

"I will bite you with my teef if you make fun of me again!"

View more comments
#21

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

Nancy Nenstiel
Community Member
5 months ago

Those are actually called finger cots...widely used by restaurant employees to keep a individual finger that may have a cut or burn clean and dry

View More Replies...
View more comments
#22

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

Lord Mysticlaw
Community Member
5 months ago

Is she the tooth fairy? Please tell me she's the tooth fairy!

View More Replies...
View more comments
#23

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

Rijkærd
Community Member
5 months ago

Whts the problem here? Seems like a cool pair of glasses...imma look for some

View More Replies...
View more comments
#24

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

Rabbit Carrot
Community Member
5 months ago (edited)

I mean it looks like how it’s supposed to. If people are choosing to wear things incorrectly (like the one with the girl with doll head earrings in her nose rather than her ears) then that’s on them. 🤷‍♀️

View More Replies...
View more comments
#25

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

Nathaniel
Community Member
5 months ago (edited)

What's the problem? Am I missing something? Edit. Just seen it. The guy parking his breakfast on the toilet.

View More Replies...
View more comments
#26

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

Kat O.
Community Member
5 months ago

I can say one thing for sure; the earrings are not the problem.

View More Replies...
View more comments
#27

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

guineapiglover12
Community Member
5 months ago

I'm sorry that haircut is a problem.

View More Replies...
View more comments
#28

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

Iampenny
Community Member
5 months ago

I don't think the shoes are the problem here...

View More Replies...
View more comments
See Also on Bored Panda
#29

Funny-Shein-Review-Items-Pics

funny.shein.reviewss Report

LuckyL
Community Member
5 months ago

Why even take a picture like that? AND post it online?

View More Replies...
View more comments

Note: this post originally had 33 images. It’s been shortened to the top 29 images based on user votes.