ADVERTISEMENT

It’s completely natural for parents to feel proud of their children. Their achievements, big or small, can feel like the most important thing in the world. And it makes sense that they’d want to share those moments with others to show how much joy their kids bring them.

It’s wholesome—most of the time. But some parents take it too far, turning it into a competition to prove whose child is the most special. In their eagerness, they exaggerate their kids’ abilities—or even straight-up lie. And that’s how they end up featured on the subreddit r/wokekids, where people don’t buy the stories and aren’t shy about calling them out.

Scroll down for a collection of their latest posts, and let us know—do you think these incidents are fake or could some of them be real?

#1

Just Thought This Would Fit Here

Just Thought This Would Fit Here

22022004 Report

RELATED:
    #2

    Ok Rebecca

    Ok Rebecca

    BoganSpecCommo Report

    #3

    Found In A Group For Parents Of Gifted Kids. There’s Lots Of Eye Roll Comments But I Think This One Is The Best I’ve Seen

    Found In A Group For Parents Of Gifted Kids. There’s Lots Of Eye Roll Comments But I Think This One Is The Best I’ve Seen

    rokemay Report

    r/wokekids first appeared on the internet in 2017, and over the past 8 years, it has grown into a community of 272K followers, becoming one of the largest of its kind on the platform. Its members take pleasure in exposing people who make up false claims about their (sometimes non-existent) children’s accomplishments. However, the creator of the subreddit, u/_CodyB/, isn’t too pleased with what it has turned into.

    ADVERTISEMENT
    #4

    I Want To Believe That's A Real Baby

    I Want To Believe That's A Real Baby

    -B0B- Report

    #5

    Smart Kid

    Smart Kid

    COOPTARD1 Report

    #6

    A World In Which Your Infant's Majority Social Interaction Is Via Youtube

    A World In Which Your Infant's Majority Social Interaction Is Via Youtube

    Valvednicandra23 Report

    “I started the sub as a meme, and it really took off for reasons outside of my control,” u/_CodyB/ told Bored Panda. “I’m extremely hands-off with it, and I actually kind of feel like the sub has gone to the dogs. Honestly, I’m thinking about shutting it down.”

    ADVERTISEMENT
    #7

    I Hope This Is Real

    I Hope This Is Real

    maybelle180 Report

    #8

    She Totally Wrote This Herself! Don't Question It You Sexists Pigs!

    She Totally Wrote This Herself! Don't Question It You Sexists Pigs!

    Hai_Koup Report

    #9

    Absolutely Inspiring 🙅‍♂️

    Absolutely Inspiring 🙅‍♂️

    LongSlut Report

    ADVERTISEMENT

    The idea of retiring a subreddit with so many followers, especially when it’s doing quite well, might seem surprising. However, u/_CodyB/ believes it’s no longer as sincere as it once was—which is undeniably ironic, given that the subreddit is best known for mocking people who post online purely for attention.

    ADVERTISEMENT
    #10

    Maybe If She Had Gone Vegan, Her Mother Would Still Be With Her

    Maybe If She Had Gone Vegan, Her Mother Would Still Be With Her

    luca_mg Report

    #11

    Happy Birthday Logan, Just Let Mom And Dad Overshadow It With Our Politics :)

    Happy Birthday Logan, Just Let Mom And Dad Overshadow It With Our Politics :)

    Whyrobotslie Report

    #12

    Yes, This Totally Happened

    Yes, This Totally Happened

    prisongovernor Report

    “It was funny when I started because Reddit is filled with so much karma baiting,” the creator of r/wokekids said. The term refers to posting content just to gain upvotes and boost a user’s reputation, known as “karma.” “But then eventually the sub meant to satirize karma baiting became the same thing.”

    ADVERTISEMENT
    #13

    Hey Son… I Got The Perfect Halloween Costume For Ya…

    Hey Son… I Got The Perfect Halloween Costume For Ya…

    BRUCEandRACKET Report

    #14

    And Then Everyone Clapped !

    And Then Everyone Clapped !

    i_fuck_fish420 Report

    #15

    This Is A Real Tweet Made By A Real U.S. Representative

    This Is A Real Tweet Made By A Real U.S. Representative

    [deleted] Report

    “Once upon a time, you could look to Reddit for proper discourse about pretty much any subject—mind you, I still think Reddit is probably the best mainstream social media outlet for that,” u/_CodyB/ added. “But it’s become obviously worse with the rise of bots. I am a firm believer in the ‘dead internet theory,’ and I think it’s just a matter of time before the internet becomes useless for most things.”

    Never miss a story that brings joy to the world. Follow on Google News

    #16

    And Then Everybody Started Clapping

    And Then Everybody Started Clapping

    n0smig Report

    #17

    A Future Proletarian Comrade

    A Future Proletarian Comrade

    [deleted] Report

    #18

    Ruthkanda

    Ruthkanda

    [deleted] Report

    Another reason the subreddit has drifted from its original purpose is tied to its name. When u/_CodyB/ first called it “woke kids,” the term “woke” had a different meaning—more about being aware of social issues rather than being used sarcastically or as a pejorative.

    “It’s difficult for me to properly define,” they explained. “I meant it to be something like recounting a conversation where the protagonist (in their mind) said something perfectly mindful and in line with the beliefs of their intended audience.”

    #19

    It’s Mushier Than That

    It’s Mushier Than That

    celestialpeacock Report

    #20

    All Because Of Youtube

    All Because Of Youtube

    mpdmonster Report

    #21

    Save Neil Young

    Save Neil Young

    Eifuku2003 Report

    However, u/_CodyB/ doesn’t think the shifting definition of the term “woke” has significantly impacted what gets posted on the subreddit. The real issue, they feel, is that it’s no longer a space where people meaningfully engage with one another. “It’s still about kids saying absurdly profound things. Except it's no longer genuine.”

    #22

    Woke, Cringe, Or “That Happened”?

    Woke, Cringe, Or “That Happened”?

    [deleted] Report

    #23

    Might As Well Be Secretary Of Defense

    Might As Well Be Secretary Of Defense

    livinlavidalola29 Report

    #24

    Supposedly A Year 3 Said This (7-8)

    Supposedly A Year 3 Said This (7-8)

    [deleted] Report

    #25

    Ballsy (Or ‘Flatsy’ Since Kiddo Is A Flat-Earther) Statement

    Ballsy (Or ‘Flatsy’ Since Kiddo Is A Flat-Earther) Statement

    Even_Aspect_2220 Report

    #26

    Sure Jan

    Sure Jan

    [deleted] Report

    #27

    This Is Probably The Opposite Of Woke But Equally As Dumb

    This Is Probably The Opposite Of Woke But Equally As Dumb

    sexi_squidward Report

    #28

    From A Dinosaur Group About The New Jurassic World:

    From A Dinosaur Group About The New Jurassic World:

    thatstolenradio Report

    #29

    Praise Jesus, Etc

    Praise Jesus, Etc

    chumpydo Report

    #30

    It Even Ends With And Then Everyone Clapped

    It Even Ends With And Then Everyone Clapped

    Ann_4443234 Report

    #31

    Found One In The Wild

    Found One In The Wild

    HopefuLark Report

    #32

    Then Everybody Hugged

    Then Everybody Hugged

    The_Airwolf_Theme Report

    #33

    Does This Belong Here?

    Does This Belong Here?

    [deleted] Report

    #34

    Kids Are Just Too Cognizant Of Global Issues For Us Normal Humans

    Kids Are Just Too Cognizant Of Global Issues For Us Normal Humans

    Val-de Report

    #35

    Yep. Your Kid Definitely Said That

    Yep. Your Kid Definitely Said That

    [deleted] Report

    #36

    Revenge

    Revenge

    gelat007 Report

    #37

    Found One In The Wild!

    Found One In The Wild!

    ElSancho0093 Report

    #38

    Yeah Mate, Surely That Happened

    Yeah Mate, Surely That Happened

    shuhratglazkov Report

    #39

    Stumbled Across This On Instagram

    Stumbled Across This On Instagram

    muhfuggingixxerbrah Report

    #40

    So True

    So True

    woahmanthisissad Report

    #41

    Editor So Bad 😔

    Editor So Bad 😔

    Jose_ANGEL_IGUAYA Report

    #42

    4 Year Old Kid Knows The History Of Australia. No Idea How She Would Know…

    4 Year Old Kid Knows The History Of Australia. No Idea How She Would Know…

    justaguy3737 Report

    #43

    Hmm

    Hmm

    Djourou4You Report

    #44

    For Sure This Happened

    For Sure This Happened

    southyarra Report

    #45

    Of Course He Did

    Of Course He Did

    frenchy614 Report

    #46

    This Kid Deserves A Nobel Peace Prize

    This Kid Deserves A Nobel Peace Prize

    mbcurly Report

    #47

    Prettier Than Elsa

    Prettier Than Elsa

    Delphina34 Report

    #48

    6 Yr Old Young Feminist

    6 Yr Old Young Feminist

    Diffindo_ Report

    #49

    Epic Parenting Win!

    Epic Parenting Win!

    Loumof Report

    #50

    Okay Honey Whatever You Say

    Okay Honey Whatever You Say

    salaciouscrumb_ Report

    #51

    Meirl

    Meirl

    Chuck-E-Chuck Report

    #52

    This Kid Is Allowed To Identify As Matt Walsh…

    This Kid Is Allowed To Identify As Matt Walsh…

    BRUCEandRACKET Report

    #53

    TheIastStarfighter Report

    #54

    Everyone Stood Up To Clap And Cry Afterwards

    Everyone Stood Up To Clap And Cry Afterwards

    -KRAM- Report

    #55

    From The Mouth Of Babes…

    From The Mouth Of Babes…

    Caday-Yuromay Report

    #56

    I’m Sure He Did

    I’m Sure He Did

    GambledMyWifeAway Report

    #57

    Sure She Did

    Sure She Did

    NOODENTO Report

    #58

    I Saw 2-5 People Say It, If It’s True Blame Them Not Me. I’m Just Posting It

    I Saw 2-5 People Say It, If It’s True Blame Them Not Me. I’m Just Posting It

    That1Legnd Report

    #59

    Use Condescending In A Sentence

    Use Condescending In A Sentence

    mindlessgonzo2 Report

    #60

    If Only I Was Brave Enough To Tackle Such Controversial Topics

    If Only I Was Brave Enough To Tackle Such Controversial Topics

    gameboy1987 Report

    #61

    When Empathy Meets Dishonesty

    When Empathy Meets Dishonesty

    ChaoticNeutralAtBest Report

    #62

    And Then Everyone Applauded

    And Then Everyone Applauded

    JournalofFailure Report