You can get away with a sloppy handshake but with a carelessly built house? Not so much. Eventually, its qualities will deteriorate to the point when the only thing holding it together is pure luck. And you better call in the construction engineers before that runs out, too.

Alpha Structural, Inc. presents itself as the only company in Los Angeles County licensed to engineer and build any type of foundation or hillside repair. For its 25th birthday, the organization has decided to share some of the craziest structural construction fails they've found over the years, making many internet users question the sanity of some contractors. "Besides having a stellar reputation, we're called out to inspect and propose solutions to many structural issues," a spokesperson of Alpha Structural, In. told Bored Panda. "Specializing in advanced hillside foundation repair methods we mainly are called to inspect when there are issues such as sloping floors, failed retaining walls, etc."

"A very common engineering fail we see is mid-century hillside homes that are sinking. They were often built with shallow footings that are prone to sink over time. Additionally, there is a lot of expansive soil in Los Angeles which, due to its high clay content, expands and contracts. This leads to corners or sides of a home that sink."

Since the company has already inspected tens of thousands of properties, it's hard to catch its engineers off guard. "I would say we're more likely to be surprised by what's under the home than the structure itself! Although, while we are not alarmist in any way, every once in a while we will come across a structure that we are surprised is still standing."

According to Alpha Structural, Inc., everyone living in the area can take measures to make their building a safe place. "We always recommend earthquake retrofitting your home," they added. "It's no surprise seismic activity is prevalent in Los Angeles, so taking the time to retrofit your home is key. Also, most foundation problems are caused because of no drainage, or poor drainage around the home. The most cost-effective solution to preserve your foundation is to make sure your yard slopes away from the structure and that your gutters and downspouts are cleaned and route the water away.

However, it's easy to get carried away. "People tend to overreact when it comes to their home. Things such as hairline cracks and minor sticking of doors can cause quite a panic in most homeowners. Plenty of information about our services can be found on our website!"

Continue scrolling to check out what epic fails these guys find daily and upvote your favorite entries!

More info: alphastructural.com | Facebook

#1

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

Everything is code when there is no code. (Not in LA)

AlphaStructural Report

Aaron Kara
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

I bet the building inspector gets 'tired' of this kind of shit...

View More Replies...
View more comments
#2

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

They missed...

AlphaStructural Report

Aaron Kara
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

They didn't just miss, they missed with consistency

Janet Clarke
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

They were probably so happy the nails went in so easily.

Last Hurrah
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

They must have got board with it.

Amazon QT
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

They didn’t “nail it”!!! Maybe next time?

Greg Mott
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

That’s actually just to prevent the support beam from moving back-n-forth...🤨

Jonathan Kline
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

Hey at least you know it won't shift to the right

I dunno lmao
Community Member
3 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

hit or miss....I guess they always miss huh..

Raquel Almendarez
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

I hope someone didn't get payed to do this. Cause damn they need a new protection.

Tammy Chapman
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

Yes, they are consistent idiots.

Mark D
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

🎼If I had a hammer I'd hammer in the morning I'd hammer in the evening All over this land

Kev B
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

Lovely straight line :) :)

TC
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

And they knew...

ispeak catanese
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

This is is the way my kitchen cabinets were hung, totally missed the stud and they used finishing nails.

Russ Oyaskida
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

They are precise but not accurate...

Paula Swanson
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

I have to applaud their dedication to getting those nails in such a straight line

M O'Connell
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

I bet there's OSB on top of that original subfloor, the kind with lines printed at 16" intervals, this joist just didn't want to fall in line.

Jordy Star
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

at least they were constistent

Gee Jay Coleco
Community Member
4 years ago

This comment has been deleted.

View More Replies...
View more comments
#3

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

YES, this is a real skull & YES it was called in to the police and YES it was confirmed by a detective coroner.

While doing a real estate inspection in the valley, one of our assessors came across the above skull. It was said to be found in Peru by the previous owners. Apparently, they brought it back in their luggage when returning from their vacation in Peru. Why they would do this is beyond me.

This was later confirmed by the sellers of the property that it was in fact brought back over to the states from Peru. The skull, which was studied by the coroner, was roughly 1,000 years old. This is by far one of the craziest things we've seen doing foundation inspections in Los Angeles.

AlphaStructural Report

Luis Milian
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

wow. the scary part (if is true) is that it traveled in someone's luggage all the way from Peru and TSA did nothing about it.

View More Replies...
View more comments
#4

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

This was taken during one of our structural inspections in North Hollywood. It's gonna take a little more than duct tape to fix this one.

AlphaStructural Report

Phoebes
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

"If duct tape doesn't fix it, you just aren't using enough". ~Dwayne Johnson

View More Replies...
View more comments
#5

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

Now, I forgot the term for these, but basically it's a massive hole/well that was about a meter under the concrete footing. The owner had no idea this was here. Must have been there for decades.

AlphaStructural Report

Aaron Kara
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

Ah yes, this is where I keep my evil spirits

View more comments
#6

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

And they were wondering why their floors were sagging.

AlphaStructural Report

Aaron Kara
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

Do I need to check under my house for this kind of shoddiness?

View More Replies...
View more comments
#7

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

During an inspection, one of our assessors found this beauty. A wall created entirely out of concrete filled washing machines.

AlphaStructural Report

#8

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

And there goes the other half of your house

AlphaStructural Report

Rich Auntie Skeleton
Community Member
4 years ago (edited) Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

I remember seeing an episode of Hoarders where a guy had a house like this. He had so much junk in his attic and the weight of it was all being held up by one sagging beam. One book falling over would have bought his whole house crashing down on him. God it was sad.

View more comments
#10

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

"I have sagging floors" And this is why.

AlphaStructural Report

Cat on a bike
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

the floor was lava and then there was none...

View more comments
#11

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

This is something you don't see every day: A colony of bees/hornets/wasps, have created a honeycombed nest on the carcass of a dead animal and it became the perfect online content. Nasty.

AlphaStructural Report

#12

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

This is a foundation made up of river rock, some sort of hardened mortar and the tears of the contractors who did it. Also, I see a rhino!

AlphaStructural Report

LOttawa
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

Maybe the contractor was also an artist... it's the only way I can explain the rhino

View more comments
#13

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

This is a very interesting view from a basement window. It's actually located in a shower and you can see the critters moving around in the dirt. Hope you like bugs!

AlphaStructural Report

#14

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

It may seem as if this is a photo was taken at an angle, but I assure you, it was perfectly straight. The floors are just sloping down a good 6 inches from the middle of the home.

AlphaStructural Report

#15

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

Nothing is worse than coming across a massive gas pipe while excavation. It wasn't on the initial plans.

AlphaStructural Report

#16

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

Though these jacks are pretty common...they should never be used as a permanent pier. Unless secured with duct tape of course.

AlphaStructural Report

#17

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

This is an abandoned home in East Los Angeles. I don't want to get too technical on this, but not even the homeless would want to set up shop in there.

AlphaStructural Report

Phoebes
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

Lol--gives new meaning to the term "mobile home"!!

View More Replies...
View more comments
#18

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

This is one of the craziest structural fails I've ever seen. No re-bar, not bolted, settling 2 ft and it's on sand...Just wow!

AlphaStructural Report

#19

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

Yeah...that's not legal.

AlphaStructural Report

#20

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

A soft-story can be described as multi-level structure built with a first floor that is much less rigid (soft) than the floors above, such as in an apartment with tuck under parking. This is a cause for concern, for when an earthquake hits, the existing columns do not have the strength to protect against the sideways movement that can occur.

AlphaStructural Report

Michelle Carlson
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

It looks like you could hit it with a hammer and the whole thing would come down.

View More Replies...
View more comments
#21

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

This is actually the door leading to Narnia. It just so happens that it's under a house in Pasadena, CA.

Seriously though, they used this as a sort of "shear wall" for additional strength. Again, an obvious DIY job.

AlphaStructural Report

#22

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

May not look like much, but a single toddler jumps and that set of stairs and deck come down.

AlphaStructural Report

#23

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

This is a first

AlphaStructural Report

#24

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

Not in terrible condition but I really want to kick it in.

AlphaStructural Report

Donald Pelton
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

It reminds me of one of those traps created by Wiley Coyote in the Road Runner cartoons.

View More Replies...
View more comments
#25

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

It's simple, the floor is actually a balloon. Prepare to fly.

AlphaStructural Report

#26

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

The fact that almost all of the post & piers were like this is concerning!

AlphaStructural Report

Pan Narrans
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

That only confirms my suspision that we are dealing with magic carpet dealers!

View more comments
#27

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

This is what happens when wood touches dirt over a long period of time. It soaks up water and rots.

AlphaStructural Report

RaroaRaroa
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

A fact anyone knows, surely. How do these places get built in the first place?

View More Replies...
View more comments
#28

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

So from here we see there is a slope starting from the right and going 15 feet to left.
After peeling back the carpet, we discovered a massive slab crack. To the right of the crack we see another crack that's been patched. The left side of the house was completely sinking a total of 18 inches from the point of the crack. One of the worst slab conditions we've seen so far in LA.

AlphaStructural Report

#29

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

Stay hydrated my friends...

AlphaStructural Report

#30

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

Let's just say it's a little over-engineered.

AlphaStructural Report

Phoebes
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

I don't know...I bet you don't see in cracks in any of THOSE floors!

View More Replies...
View more comments
#31

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

This patio above the garage had a little water intrusion...

AlphaStructural Report

Biana Weatherford
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

Why was this inspected? For insurance purposes? So they could get a demolition permit?

View more comments
#32

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

They might want to add a "Do not park next to this obviously failing retaining wall because it might fall on your car in the night and we're not paying for it" sign.

AlphaStructural Report

Donald Pelton
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

There was a parking lot on West Colorado Avenue in Colorado Springs where a wall had been built at the bottom of a hill like this. It gave way, and buried a car.

View more comments
#33

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

This is a disaster waiting to happen. A large area of the back patio is basically floating on this hillside. Also, you can clearly see my finger in the frame.

AlphaStructural Report

Hendra Lim
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

it's still there because of the tree roots is holding it, PRAISE MOTHER NATURE!

View More Replies...
View more comments
#34

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

The issue is....all of it

AlphaStructural Report

Slune
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

I never promised you a rose garden?.....

View more comments
#35

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

The columns on the side are fine, but the middle one...it's game over

AlphaStructural Report

#36

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

During an inspection in Los Angeles, we came across this brittle, failing foundation made of brick. The mortar simply fell right off of the brick in a dust waterfall. An earthquake would more than likely demolish this home.

AlphaStructural Report

Ginge
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

Ballsy move playing jenga underneath a house, don't think i'd fancy being under there..

View more comments
#37

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

Post that's barely resting upon a concrete pier. This one is undermined and probably one good shake away from collapsing.

AlphaStructural Report

#38

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

It's a bucket filled with sand, not concrete, used as a concrete pier. Code? Nope. Aesthetic? Nope. Funny? Yep.

AlphaStructural Report

Meghan Turnis
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

Are these all in California? How do they not all just slide into the ocean?

View More Replies...
View more comments
#39

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

This speaks for itself. If you're wondering about the filter, I lost the original. All I have is our Instagram photo.

AlphaStructural Report

Jilltdcatlady
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

Fill it with Great Stuff for wide gaps, paint it, and call it a feature.

View More Replies...
View more comments
#40

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

Nature will find it's way. (Ficus Tree Root)

AlphaStructural Report

#41

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

Let's play a game of Jenga in the back yard.

AlphaStructural Report

#42

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

A big concrete block, random wood members and plywood. That should do.

AlphaStructural Report

A B C
Community Member
3 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

it's way better built up tan some other foundations shown here...

View more comments
#43

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

Did a structural assessment for this home and the lady was wondering why her home was sloping 7 inches. Some classic LA settlement.

AlphaStructural Report

Ginge
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

I think the house is about to take off! How many balloons do they have on the roof?

View More Replies...
View more comments
#44

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

The roots basically said F**K YOU and broke the wall with ease.

AlphaStructural Report

#45

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

This was a very interesting hillside home that was sliding down the hill. They needed an engineered wall to keep the house from cracking down the slope.

AlphaStructural Report

#46

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

This one is subtle but the property is shifting like crazy! The back wall is bowing quite a bit and in the top right, where the stilts connect to the overhang, you can see the waviness of the connections and how unstable it really is.

AlphaStructural Report

#47

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

A few more inches down and that would have made a nice half-pipe for skateboarding. Image below shows the cause of this dip!

AlphaStructural Report

M O'Connell
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017

It's not weird that they built a brick patio on top of a wooden deck?

View more comments
#48

Weird-Things-Structural-Inspections

This was found under a house. Somebody undermined the entire footing then stopped the excavation and left.

AlphaStructural Report

M O'Connell
Community Member
4 years ago Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017