Bored Panda works better on our iPhone app
Continue in app Continue in browser
BoredPanda Add Post

The Bored Panda iOS app is live! Fight boredom with iPhones and iPads here.

The Way This Vegan Reacted To A Subway Worker Telling Her That Mayonnaise Is Not Vegan Is Going Viral
295points
User submission
23K
648.8K
Other3 years ago

The Way This Vegan Reacted To A Subway Worker Telling Her That Mayonnaise Is Not Vegan Is Going Viral

Veganism is becoming increasingly common in affluent western societies, alongside a curiously heated discussion about its merits and the personal choices people make about their own diets. No matter what you may think about the subject, one has to admire the discipline, dedication and education that vegans possess when it comes to food and the worryingly influential industry that has grown around it, vegans have taken an admirable ethical stance in the fight for a more sustainable and kinder world.

However it would seem that not all vegans have taken the time to properly educate themselves about the limitations of their diet, and are simply jumping on the bandwagon. This short tale, told by Redditor Gresh66, is a perfect example of someone who appears to be a strict adherent to veganism on the outside, but doesn’t even know the most basic realities of food and where it comes from. Without this knowledge, the moral high ground that many ‘bandwagon’ vegans appear to crave is somewhat diminished, so please, try to learn as much as you possibly can to avoid the kind of surprise that this woman received!

Scroll down below to read the story for yourself, and let us know what you think in the comments! (Cover image: digboston)

A Subway worker recently told of the time he taught a vegan that mayonnaise is not actually vegan

Most people reacted with amusement to the story

649Kviews

Share on Facebook
Popular on Bored Panda
Join the conversation
birdhouse
Community Member
3 years ago

Good on the Subway guy for respectfully letting her know.

Honesty Olishia
Community Member
3 years ago

Yeah, I'm really tired of hearing long stories like this where people rattle off insults at each other just to prove a point.

Load More Replies...
criminalgirl
Community Member
3 years ago

No, it has egg yolks in it, not whites.

Cesi Baca
Community Member
3 years ago

Yes exactly, it’s egg yokes! and I believe bread dough is made with eggs as well Lol. Subway is really not the place for a vegan, veggie sandwich or not. The worker may have changed gloves, but other gloves that touched meat that day already touched the lettuce, touched the tomatoes, touched the cucumber etc. It’s a vegan nightmare really.

Load More Replies...
anarkzie
Community Member
3 years ago

Being Vegan is a learning process, there is so much animal produce in things you would not think about.

Alib
Community Member
3 years ago

Exactly! I was learned Jello shots weren't the least bit vegetarian—forget about vegan—after I ate, like, 10 at a party. Bread is another one that often has dairy.

Load More Replies...
Ariel McKay
Community Member
3 years ago

I worked at a restaurant and one day, a table ordered a chicken pasta dish, but to hold the chicken. I, being knowledgable of the menu and ingredients, informed them the dish is still made with chicken broth, in case they asked to hold the chicken for vegetarian purposes. They became livid at me, because they were vegetarians that had been eating that dish for a long time and didn't know they were consuming chicken broth. I felt bad, but also didn't understand why they got mad at me...

Rose Cooke
Community Member
3 years ago

Well, obviously the chicken broth hadn't harmed them in any way so why the fuss? Vegetarianism, veganism, etc like religion is a lifestyle choice not a life threatening allergy. Some people need to stop being so precious.

Load More Replies...
Dan H
Community Member
3 years ago

I often wonder, do vegans and vegetarians eat animal crackers?

Meowton Mewsk
Community Member
3 years ago

As long as they don’t have butter or eggs but I think most do have butter.

Load More Replies...
Notsoswift
Community Member
3 years ago

Veganism is a trendy coat that usually gets discarded

Lola
Community Member
3 years ago

And done improperly can cause irreversible damage to your body. Someone I know was told by her doctor to stop the vegan crap and eat regular food because she was having dizzy spells from being vegan.

Load More Replies...
Chris Pitch
Community Member
3 years ago

Poor girl. She sounded like she broke her own heart.

Jeannette Treusch
Community Member
3 years ago

In fact, mayonnaise isn't made of oil and egg whites - but of oil and egg YOLKS (which sometimes could freak out a vegan even more)...

Jessica Bertram
Community Member
3 years ago

Icer ydro is right, people....stop downvoting their response, it was respectful.

Load More Replies...
Charlotte Bayer
Community Member
3 years ago

Had an argument with a friend who is vegan a while go. He went on a rant about how he can't and won't buy honey because it means "stealing food from the bees". I tried to explain to him that bees are in danger of becoming extinct and that buying more honey would mean bee keepers need more bees, which = good. Tbh I think having more bees, which nature really needs (like a lot) is more important than sticking to a diet restriction that you put on yourself. But alas, I am still the evildoer eating bread with honey. Sigh.

Anna Thouvenin
Community Member
3 years ago

It absolutely depends. Buying honey from a local producer is good. Buying honey from a large-scale brand usually means less care is given to the bees. When you are vegetarian, vegan or simply conscious about your own impact, it's your own duty to do the research and see the implications of your choices.

Load More Replies...
Paul Dixon
Community Member
3 years ago

This is why the idea of being vegan is just a made up thing. A lot of food has animal products in it. If you are going to be vegan, you really need to know your food otherwise you can end up with a lot of health problems. There's nothing wrong with deciding not to eat meat but extremism is often too far.

Master Markus
Community Member
3 years ago

Yeah. I'm fine with whatever diet people want to do - they're free to do it - but what pisses me off is when people try to say that humans are biologically herbivores and eating meat is some sort of "social construct". NO! Look at some bloody biology! We might not be perfect at digesting meat, especially in very large quantities but we are also extremely inefficient in digesting plant matter (as Virgil Blue mentioned). That's just how evolution works, it makes gradual changes, not perfect animals.

Load More Replies...
Tess
Community Member
3 years ago

I remember when I worked at a chocolate cafe where we'd give a chocolate out with every drink and I asked these girls what chocolate they wanted and they literally yelled back "WE'RE VEGAN WE CAN'T HAVE CHOCOLATE" and then asked for like 5 marshmallows each to compensate them not having the free chocolate. I know it's a little evil not to say anything but they were so rude and acting so high and mighty that I gladly gave them their marshmallows not reminding them that marshmallows are made from gelatin, which is derived from the collagen inside animals' skin and bones and probably far less vegan than the chocolate we served (including 90% dark chocolate) :p

RJ Oliver
Community Member
3 years ago

In my experience there are primarily two types of vegans. Those who choose to be so because of health or ethical reasons and do their best to educate themselves on products and how best to have a healthy balanced vegan diet. They will discuss their choices and reasonings with others if asked but don't berate others for not doing as they do. Then there are those who think that being vegan is easy and anyone who doesn't do what they do is horrid and abusive and will go out of their way to create a fuss about the issue, often citing false information. It is the latter who give vegans a bad rap.

Claire
Community Member
3 years ago

So true

Load More Replies...
Lulu Machete
Community Member
3 years ago

Tell me your yolking ; )

Gerry Higgins
Community Member
3 years ago

Vegans are funny. If they only knew how many animals the farmers kill to get their crop to them. Birds, rabbits, gophers, deer, etc etc etc.

Claire
Community Member
3 years ago

We have to eat SOMETHING. We are not going to starve ourselves to death. Being vegan is harming animals. I know that. But we are also harming animals less than we would if we ate meat because so much land is being taken up with growing their food and housing them (though I would not consider where they live a house). Far more food is grown for a cow than it is for a human because cows need to eat more than we do. We are wasting food and water on these animals.

Load More Replies...
Tor Rolf Strøm
Community Member
3 years ago

Ouch. Good thing for her is that vegan mayo is pretty much completely the same as regular mayo. It's even super easy to make yourself.

Jerry Howe
Community Member
3 years ago

My wife and I have been 95% vegan for almost a decade. I you are going to be on a plant based diet for the long haul, you have to be flexible at times. You will be a lot happier and healthier. If you are two rigid with any life style, it will make you crazy in the long term,

Magpie
Community Member
3 years ago

I was highly amused to read the ingredients on my " beef stock powder"...sugar in different forms, flour, yeast extract powder, more sugar. No beef, in fact vegan friendly.

Virgil Blue
Community Member
3 years ago

Since most of the plant kingdom seems to hate my digestive system with a vengeance (I'm very allergic) I'll just stick to a reasonable amount of meat, eggs and dairy and some safe for me veggie thanks. And mayo. Sweet sweet mayo.

Echo
Community Member
3 years ago

Sorry but I just stopped reading after the person said this, "one has to admire the discipline, dedication and education that vegans possess." The food you eat does not have a single thing to do with what you decide to ingest. I assume they were trying to just be nice, but people who ascribe to some life choice seriously believe it gives them special powers vs regular people, and that is just dumb. Make a choice that make you feel good. But that is your choice. Don't go around acting like it makes your special. And for god sakes please don't force your choice on other people or animals who Cannot speak for themselves. That means foxes and babies. Let them make that choice by letting them choose with options, or grow up and decide to follow their parents actions. Any sorry I am done.

Blacksheep
Community Member
3 years ago

When you want to be a vegan because it's the trend of the year but don't know shit about what it is about... Don't worry, next year she'll find another trend to follow and will fill herself with all the mayo she can find.

Lola
Community Member
3 years ago

Oh for all the times restaurants have served and still serve marinara sauce with beef stock. I used to work with someone who claimed to be a vegetarian and ate ham because she said ham was processed and it wasn’t really meat.

Paora Benson
Community Member
3 years ago

How does anyone above the age of 10 not know mayo is made from egg yolks (not whites BTW). Anyone that thinks their choice of foods is so important should at least try cooking. As soon as you try and make mayo you will realise the mistake

KatHat
Community Member
3 years ago

Breads generally don't have eggs in them. Some speciality types do, like challah or brioche, but not as a standard thing.

Ginny King
Community Member
3 years ago

Yes but they all contain milk and most contain butter.

Load More Replies...
Robin Goodfell
Community Member
3 years ago

I was EXPECTING a fight...then nothing. How anticlimactic :P

Kelly
Community Member
3 years ago

Now she's more aware of what she is eating. Good decision, however.

Stille20
Community Member
3 years ago

Honestly, this just tells us how far we all are from knowing what we are eating. We all hear about horrible things in the food we eat and a lot of people just shrug and continue to eat it.

Virgil Blue
Community Member
3 years ago

The palm oil industry is also doing horrible thing to rainforests, so better check if what your eating uses responsibly farmed palm oil!

Load More Replies...
stellermatt
Community Member
3 years ago

but I thought they checked, like, EVERYTHING before using/eating/smelling/wearing it? I wonder if she knows fish are used in wine?

r3dd3v1lL
Community Member
3 years ago

Fish in wine? I'm genuinely curious where do fish come in the making of wine? Isn't wine made of grapes?

Load More Replies...
Xavier Davis
Community Member
3 years ago

Just don’t be a freak vegan in the first place. Were omnivores for a reason

SouthernFried
Community Member
3 years ago

Bread usually isn't vegan either.

Suzanne
Community Member
3 years ago

There are quite a few different breads that are indeed vegan as well as tortilla shells, flatbreads, hotdog buns and ciabatta type breads. You just have to read the ingredient labels and know your additives.

Load More Replies...
carol Vaughn
Community Member
3 years ago

I was told by a Vegan he eats eggs but only the whites cause the yolk is where the chicken come from. Still trying to figure it out,

Bored Office Girl
Community Member
3 years ago

Lucky for her, Hellman's actually makes a vegan mayonnaise. I use it, and it's very good. Like the real thing. And there are soooo many things that you think are vegan, and they're hiding animal products in them. Canned refried beans have lard (as do some donuts). Worcestershire sauce has anchovies. Some restaurants serve marinara sauce with a beef stock. You'll have to ask to make sure it's a vegan sauce, or request vegan. Which I think is ridiculous. Marinara is SUPPOSED to be meat-free. That's why you ask for meat sauce if you want it. Some restaurants will serve soup with a beef or chicken stock, even though the soup is seemingly vegetarian. You always have to ask to make sure! Marshmallows and most gummy candies have gelatin (ground-up animal hooves and cartilage). The list goes on. I've gotten used to being careful.

Indre
Community Member
3 years ago

This girl did not once mentioned why she is vegan, but so many people assume that this could only be because of ethical reasons. There are many autoimmune diseases that makes life much harder while eating meat and dairy and Im sure there is a bunch of other reasons why one might become a vegan. Labelling every vegan automatically self righteous is simply mean

Robert Rivers
Community Member
3 years ago

I was in a team meeting at work a couple of years back. Two of those in the meeting was good friends and went out to lunch all the time. One of those were vegan and was so happy to tell us all about an imitation crab meat at the Chinese restaurant, thinking it was meat free. Me being me, I had to tell her. I said, "You know the immitation crab meat you have been eating is actually pollack" as her friend was trying to stop me from talking. Apparently, the vegan was told by her friend it had no meat in it and thought so at the time but later found out it was made out of fish and did not have the heart to tell the vegan anything because it had become her new favorite and just loved imitation crab meat.

Christine Eccles
Community Member
3 years ago

even Jell-O is not vegan , it's made from bones and meat by products

Claire
Community Member
3 years ago

There is vegan Jell-O though. It is the gelatin in the Jell-O that vegans can't eat and they can also make gelatin out of seaweed.

Load More Replies...
Stannous Flouride
Community Member
3 years ago

Many things, especially things made of plastic, contain animal by-products. Plastic bags, plywood, condoms, fireworks, nail polish, candles, toothpaste, water-based paints, cologne & perfumes, wood glue, shampoo/conditioner, paint brushes, fabric softener, tires, film, deodorant, soap, and computers. Stearic acid from animal fat is the number one ingredient along with glycerin,

SirWriteALot
Community Member
3 years ago

I think you need to be interested in cooking to know this ... what really gets me is people thinking chicken is not meat. Dunno how many times I've heard or read this.

diane a
Community Member
3 years ago

Am squeamish about food- but could never be a Vegan - it must be so stressfull. How do you know the worker who you never see changed gloves, how do you know your food never came into contact with an animal? Your Chillean Olives were dragged over the Andes by a bullock - your vegetables were taken to market by working animals in Italy - I applaud the principles, but the lifestyle seems unworkable

Claire
Community Member
3 years ago

Its less about the food not coming into contact with an animal (I often eat food out of the same bowl my rats or dove is eating out of at the same time ;-) and more about not paying for more animals to be killed. So for example, you wouldn't buy meat, milk, eggs, or cheese from a store because you are funding the industry (though a VERY small amount), but it would not be as bad to eat a free roll with eggs in it at a restaurant because you are not paying for the animal to be abused. Still, most vegans, including me, find all animal products revolting and won't eat it even if it is free and you are not paying for more animals to be tortured (if you don't believe that it is torture, look up a video of inside a slaughterhouse or factory farm) and killed.

Load More Replies...
Annette Laney
Community Member
3 years ago

I have a chicken and if they are truly free range the eggs just come out of them naturally and it does not hurt them so eating an egg is no big deal that is so dumb

Meowton Mewsk
Community Member
3 years ago

Do some research before name calling. It’s not the egg laying process that’s immoral. It’s the condition the chicken is kept in. Look it up, it’s all over the internet.

Load More Replies...
Biana Weatherford
Community Member
3 years ago

I'm allergic to eggs so I'm always asking for No Mayo. Of course, this also means no ranch, no special fry sauce, no thousand island dressing, no aioli, no sweet onion and bacon spread....people are surprised when I tell them why. But it's not mayo, it's fry sauce. What do you think the fry sauce is?

Lulu Machete
Community Member
3 years ago

Btw it's the yolk not the white. So like the business end of an egg.

Lola
Community Member
3 years ago

The “fat free” one has egg whites and it is disgusting.

Load More Replies...
Lord Maximus
Community Member
2 years ago

It's ALL THE GIRLS FAULT. I'm tired of weak humans acting like p*ssies not taking accountability or responsibility for themselves nor actions. It's HER OWN FAULT for calling herself a vegan when she should be called an uneducated vegan. She didn't do the homework or research. Would you let a doctor perform brain surgery on you when he just read about it and not actually researched? The girl is rock stupid for not knowing mayo, as white as it looks, is not vegan, and the fact that they sell vegan. she a bandwagon vegan more than likely, don't wanna do the time effort into researching calling restaurants and looking up menus, seeing if lard is in the beans etc like us decade+ old vegans have done and faught. she just wanna live a fake easy vegan life, thinking everyone else knows what vegan is . shame on her dumb ass.

Lord Maximus
Community Member
2 years ago

Tired of people not taking accountability for themselves and being p*ssies in the world. It's the GIRLS FAULT she so miseducated, calling herself vegan, but don't even do the research . So blind to eat anything and just hope everyone else understands what vegan means when ordering food. she stupid.

Vinniegret
Community Member
3 years ago

Olive oil would be fine if you can stand the sound of the olives screaming as they are crushed to death.

Alex Crocker
Community Member
3 years ago

I am eating a bacon sandwich while reading this.

Loraine Mangosing
Community Member
3 years ago

you cant make bread without eggs

Samantha Comerford
Community Member
3 years ago

She’s an idiot .. The End

John Ross
Community Member
3 years ago

But why would she get him to change his gloves?? People aren't vegan because they are allergic to meat. And pointlessly getting him to change his gloves is just creating more unnecessary waste.

Patricia Hazeltine
Community Member
3 years ago

Fortunately you can buy mayo, not made with eggs, from Best Foods. It tastes pretty good, not identical, but good texture and flavor.

John Sampson
Community Member
3 years ago

People are too far removed from the food-chain. Many kids have no idea that milk comes from cows! Take them to a dairy farm to watch cows being milked, offer them some to drink, and they freak out, because milk comes from cartons! We do not teach our children. They pick up the facts of life along the way. And they grow up into? You guessed it!

Flisey
Community Member
3 years ago

One of the comments states that subway doesn't carry egg free??? Bread is not made with eggs: Flour, Water/Milk and yeast. Some of Subways breads have milk but none have eggs.

Sarah Jones
Community Member
3 years ago

Veganaise by Follow your Heart is so delicious, almost addictive. Very high calories sadly. I could eat it straight out of the jar.

Tiffany Zhu
Community Member
3 years ago

Once I told a vegetarian that McDonald's fries aren't vegetarian. While she was eating them.

James Grey
Community Member
3 years ago

That poor thing. There is vegan mayo but I guess she thought that all mayo is made with oil like those are. I understand why she took it anyway...if she's been eating it all this time, why the hell not? Good on that guy for telling her. At least now she knows and will have that knowledge for future purposes.

Helen Johnston
Community Member
3 years ago

most bread recipes I have made also have milk powder or milk in them so are definitely not vegan

Dan Carter
Community Member
3 years ago

Do vegans swallow man-chowder? Really curious...anyone?

Laura Lawson
Community Member
3 years ago

Is anyone else a little grossed out that he didn't change his gloves after handling meat anyway?? That's just an awesome way to cross contaminate other food products! Plus here in Aus, they change gloves between orders, which is really the only way to prevent contamination.

Gemma Lees
Community Member
3 years ago

I became a veggie when I was 13 and even at that age I did loads of research, (in books and at the health food shop because it was 1996 and the Internet was rubbish), and learned what I couldn't eat and what I should eat instead if meat and I also began cooking for me and my family once a week. The fact that this woman was probably carrying around a device in her pocket capable of instantly accessing any information she caresmd to search for yet didn't bother blows my mind!

Gemma Lees
Community Member
3 years ago

I just want to add that I eat a rich, varied diet. I don't push my views on anyone and I buy and cook meat for my husband and friends. My son is veggie and he loves it but if he wishes to try meat at any point he has my blessing. I always politely enquire as to the cooking method and ingredients of dishes in restaurants and I don't get mad if they use animal fats or stock, I just choose something else. I can't stand self-richeous veggies or vegans.

Load More Replies...
furrybumkins
Community Member
3 years ago

Now Subway will have to provide vegan mayo because of all this.

Mike Bell
Community Member
3 years ago

Why do Subway workers need to use gloves at all? It's just another instance of single use plastic destined for landfill. What's wrong with say washing your hands before serving each customer (using a bar of soap rather than something which comes in a plastic bottle)?

John McIlveen
Community Member
3 years ago

Am I a vegan by proxy if I only eat grass-fed beef?

Maria Campbell
Community Member
3 years ago

Recently on a forum I saw the comment about how hypocritical it was that the product in question was not in fact dairy-free. She had written that it had eggs in it, so how could it be dairy-free???? I sat there with my hand on my head thinking, 'what is the world coming to?' I mean everyone knows cows lay eggs, amirite? (that's satire for those who wish to go on a spiel for 19 paragraphs btw.)

Felicia Dale
Community Member
3 years ago

A friend of mine who is strictly vegan for emotional reasons (she can't bear to hurt even fruit flies) had to tell her mother that no, she couldn't eat jello because it's made from animal parts. Though... when she went to France she caved and went vegetarian for the two weeks because being vegan there would be almost impossible. I was really proud of her for being able to suspend her beliefs for that short time.

Colette Bembenek
Community Member
3 years ago

HAha; Actually thought it was going to read: "yesterday, I had a chick filet'."

Michelle Dodson
Community Member
3 years ago

Wow. Reading these comments is a trip through ignoramus-land. Mayo contains egg yolks, not egg whites & I have yet to find bread that contains eggs, unless you're asking for a sandwich on Brioche.

Isabel Care
Community Member
3 years ago

40 years ago I had to see a food specialist for food intolerances. She handed me a typed list and said bye. I left, scanned the list and knocked on her door. I couldn't have wheat, sugar beet, sugar cane or beetroot. The list was full of cereals and tinned stuff. Had to educate the "professional" My bread choices were pumpernickel, Ryvita or create it myself (rubber bricks). So glad things have moved on. I can handle a little wheat but am now diabetic. Loads of food choices available now

Mike Smith
Community Member
3 years ago

Many, many years ago, I worked at McDonald's. I was a manager and somebody asked to speak to me. He was mad at the lack of vegetarian options on the menu. He was cramming fries in his mouth while telling me we needed a veggie burger, (which came a couple of years later) to which I disagreed. I told him him that if you want a burger then you need to eat some meat. Yes, I'm an obnoxious dick sometimes. He went on a diatribe about vegetarianism being better for the world. At that point, I looked at him with a big McD's smile and told him that the fries he was cramming down his throat were cooked in beef shortening,(it changed to veggie shortening years later). The look of terror on his face made my day. He had said that the only reason he came to McDonald's was for the fries. Then he asked if he could get a refund on the fries he was eating because he wasn't going to finish them. I said no, nothing was wrong with them, he had loved them. I had a HUGE smile on my face as I said this.

Elizabeth Butler
Community Member
3 years ago

Vegan has been getting to be a fad and lots of kids do not understand the difference between vegetarian and vegan.

TwystedJinx
Community Member
3 years ago

All good.. cept Mayo has egg YOLKS in it..not whites, specifically not whites, you have to separate those out first.

Michèle Gyselinck
Community Member
3 years ago

Phew! Life really gets complicated when you make a religion out of diets. I can understand why people would choose to avoid eating animal products, but in the end it's only food, for Pete's sake. Chillaxe!

David Horchak
Community Member
3 years ago

Mayo has eggs. Vegan allows eggs. Ova-vegan does not allow eggs Subway worker uninformed most posters here evidently uninformed

Mark CM
Community Member
3 years ago

I bet she was wearing leather shoes too.

Mark CM
Community Member
3 years ago

Bread has yeast ... which is an animal. It exhales carbon dioxide which makes the bread rise. All those poor little yeast animals MURDERED by that vegan bitch! LOL

Mark CM
Community Member
3 years ago

It's made with egg YOLKS ... not the whites. It seems Subway workers need a an education too. LOL

Rose Cooke
Community Member
3 years ago

This is typical of people who join currently trendy movements without knowing what they are really about. Like every other trendy fad, very few current vegans will maintain the lifestyle for the duration of their life, most are just hopping onto something fashionable at the moment without full knowledge of what it entails.

Jim Hunt
Community Member
3 years ago

Poor girl. It seems obvious she wants to be vegan and is trying hard to be true to that. But has also given up on a lot convenience and food she formerly enjoyed to do so. And one more thing that made her vegan life choice bearable (the mayo) is now also gone. I totally get it. I just hope she had someone to give her a hug that day.

Abbas Fahmy
Community Member
3 years ago

Mayo is made with egg yolks or whole eggs ... but never with egg whites alone. I'm a chef ;) @abbaseyat

Ricky Mckinnon
Community Member
3 years ago

I smell bullshit.

LoneWolfie
Community Member
3 years ago

Aww, I feel so bad for her..

CharlieInTx
Community Member
3 years ago

Does anyone else see the irony in Timothy Michael Mizell's response?

Deena Salzman
Community Member
3 years ago

Yet another stupid anti-vegan post on Bored Panda. Also, what kind of marinara sauce is made with beef stock? It's almost always vegetarian!

Lydia Sugarman
Community Member
3 years ago

Only certain types of bread contain eggs. I'd bet none of the different breads offered at Subway contain eggs. But, they probably contain milk, possibly butter.

Lydia Sugarman
Community Member
3 years ago

Mayo has egg yolks only. No whites.

André Fierens
Community Member
3 years ago

Some people think eating fish is Vegetarian !

The Other Jake
Community Member
3 years ago

Reminds me of when my son asked me to get gluten free bread. I said, "So, you tested positive for being a coeliac?" He had no clue.

Sharon Sybrandt
Community Member
3 years ago

Most vegetarianism/veganism doesn't even save animals from being killed because the majority of meat that we eat is raised specifically for food. If we all stopped eating meat, they would stop raising cattle, chickens, pigs, etc and they would probably eventually cease to exist.

Claire
Community Member
3 years ago

But I think that that is better than them only existing to live a horrible life, then die an equally horrible death.

Load More Replies...
Mae
Community Member
3 years ago

A lot of times I've ordered a veggie sandwich and they would ask me if I want them to change gloves, I always say no because I don't mind really. I initially don't eat meat because I don't like the taste or the texture so I don't care if it might have touched some of the meats. But I really appreciated the gesture!

Juan Alcorta
Community Member
3 years ago

Not knowing that mayo is made with eggs, it´s like saying cotton comes from sheep. Fine with beeing a vegan, just do a little research. Less Subway, more cooking.

Carol Emory
Community Member
3 years ago

Replies to comments above. A) Not all marinara has beef stock, check with your store or restaurant B) McDonald's fries have beef tallow in their frying oil C) The only Subway rolls that are vegan are their Italian white, Sourdough and Roasted Garlic as well as any wraps..all others contain milk or honey of some sort D) And some people say they're Vegan when they actually mean they're Vegetarian. Resources..my husband is vegan and my son is pescetarian (eggs, milk, seafood.) I've done a lot of research on the topic of veganism.

Carol Emory
Community Member
3 years ago

My husband and I frequented an asian restaurant in out town. They had Garlic Tofu and Tofu in Brown Sauce on the menu. The manager sat us down and I asked her if those particular items were Vegan. She didn't understand vegan so I explained that it's any product that came from an animal..including seafood, bugs, chicken, beef, pork, eggs, milk or dairy. She nodded, went and checked with the cook, and returned to announce that both items were, in fact, vegan. So for 6 month my husband and I frequented this establishment only to have a waitress who was very well versed in the ingredients for the restaurant say that both sauces for those dished included chicken stock. I not only had her confirm this, but found out the cook was the managers husband! WTF? How do you not know what is in the food then!?! We haven't returned to the restaurant since.

Load More Replies...
Jack Cannon
Community Member
3 years ago

There are no Vegan Police, so I guess she can make an exception to her own rules. My lady won't eat pork, but she loves bacon!

Elina Kuusisto
Community Member
3 years ago

It's too bad she didn't know 😕 But at least she's trying

Eric Dawson
Community Member
3 years ago

I think the world might have a few less vegans if they actually thought about what's it constituent properties are.

KT Trondsen
Community Member
3 years ago

Wouldn't the bread also have dairy [product in it?

Christina Sersif
Community Member
3 years ago

Being vegan sounds like too much work.

P Piorecki
Community Member
3 years ago

Does anyone get a feeling that with all this technological advancement humanity is actually getting more stupid? :-/

Alex Ferguson
Community Member
3 years ago

I don't know why vegans act so horrified when they find out something they've eaten has animal products in it? Jfc just learn for next time, in the meantime it's not going to kill you if you ~accidentally~ ate an egg or two.

Valerie Lessard
Community Member
3 years ago

stop being a loser, do your job and go home.

ivan bolitekurac
Community Member
3 years ago

How many bugs where killed because you're vegan?If you don't like the taste of meat,fine.If you doing it for ethical reasons,then you are not better than meat eaters...

Claire
Community Member
3 years ago

Thing is, you are killing the bugs AND the cows, pigs, chickens, turkeys, fish, and all the other animals. Anyway, I don't like to be what my brother calls speciesist (treating one species better than another), but I think that I prefer to be killing bugs over mammals, birds, and fish. Did you know that pigs are as smart as 3-year-olds?

Load More Replies...
Ellen
Community Member
3 years ago

Okay why do vegans drive if tires have animal products in them

Ellen
Community Member
3 years ago

That didn't answer my question

Load More Replies...
westwing
Community Member
3 years ago

You have to wonder just exactly what the hell she DID think mayo was made with???

Jo Choto
Community Member
3 years ago

It can be quite hard to eat out when you're vegan. But she should invest in a jar of Vegannaise. Better still, she could make her own sandwiches!

Maham Zafar
Community Member
3 years ago

I salute the people who manage to say vegan in this day and age where literally every thing that comes inside a bottle can't be trusted.

rhyan lumilay
Community Member
3 years ago

Should vegan first try to become like us then at time becomes vegan so that they'll know first which foods has meats on it.

Tamerah Long
Community Member
3 years ago

As a 49 year old I am so very, very glad that social media and Google weren't around during my 20's. We didn't have to worry about being ignorant we could just grow up and learn along the way. These days there seems to be an expectation that you should know everything before you've even tried to experience it. I get the feeling she went ahead and ordered they mayo purely because, no matter how hard one tries, it's never ever good enough. There is always, always something out there that will re-rail you and, in this age of "knowledge", an expectation that you should have known better. How boring.

Melinda Novák
Community Member
3 years ago

Not egg whites, but egg yolks!

Dawn Reddie
Community Member
3 years ago

Step son same thing. Would rant and rant about being vegan. And to be honest was very very proud of his commitment, right up until he decided pizza with no cheese was vegan but because in made lasagne with spinach noodles that was okay.? Dismayed I was

Linda Newhouse
Community Member
3 years ago

May be she is trying to reduce her carbon foot-print and has ethical issues about eating animals or their by products. However, it does not sound like allergies are involved. She has reduced her reliance on animal products. She just hasn't eliminated them completely yet. Personally I am a meat eater, but I give her kudos for trying to live by what she believes.

Procrastinating Panda
Community Member
3 years ago

McDonald's fries aren't vegetarian?!?!?!? This comment surprised me more than the post itself.

Nell Benson
Community Member
3 years ago

I had a friend who was vegetarian and one day I told her that gummy bears had meat in them .... she was devastated...

Donald Drake
Community Member
3 years ago

I like Timoth Mizell's comment -- "The people these days forget what your taught in school." Hmm. How about "your" vs. "you're"?

WubiDubi
Community Member
3 years ago

Vegans require a completely different facility, using precious resources, to create specialty foods for them. Okay so you didn't kill a cow or chicken but you are killing the earth. How many acres of chickpeas must be watered and fertilized and cultivated to make a jar of vegan mayo?

Meowton Mewsk
Community Member
3 years ago

It’s a learning process but there’s plenty of vegan mayo brands.

Dirgni San
Community Member
3 years ago

Timothy Michael Mitchell - you forgot what you were taught in school too. It's "you're taught," not "your taught."

Sivi
Community Member
3 years ago

Just wait until she finds out what some makeup and jelly is made of :D

Amina Hays
Community Member
3 years ago

Egg yolks, not egg whites. Surely that's common knowledge to kn

Amina Hays
Community Member
3 years ago

Oops, I pressed send too soon but I'm sure you get the gist!

Load More Replies...
BoopityBooptiyBooper
Community Member
3 years ago

I was nervous for a moment. Thought she was gonna go off on him

Meowton Mewsk
Community Member
3 years ago

Same.

Load More Replies...
Job Schopman
Community Member
3 years ago

My whole world turned upside down! I've always thought that mayonnaise was made with yolks not whites!! Those bastards tricked me....

N G
Community Member
3 years ago

The hens tricked you?

Load More Replies...
Jeanneke van Berkel
Community Member
3 years ago

On the other hand, Muslims don't drink alcohol but eat sauce and things with vinegar in it, although vinegar contains alcohol.

Gerald Jarick
Community Member
3 years ago

Veganism is clearly a mix of mental illness and fascination for extremism. A sort of synonym of nazi for foods...

Katy Thorn
Community Member
3 years ago

Wine..who knew?? Most vegans ignore that one too 😀

Ginny King
Community Member
3 years ago

Bread isn't vegan either. It contains eggs milk and butter.

Claire
Community Member
3 years ago

SOME bread isn't, but most are.

Load More Replies...
Ginny King
Community Member
3 years ago

Bread isn't vegan either It contains eggs milk and butter

Melinda Novák
Community Member
3 years ago

n

Alexandra Sedan
Community Member
3 years ago

This comment is hidden. Click here to view.

!!!! First of all !!! (about Amanda Lynn s comment) -- BREAD IS VEGAN :))))) only in the US you can find ppl that mess with the recipes Second - vegan Mayo tastes almost the same , so she sprobably didn t know cause u cant taste the difference between those two oh , and one more thing -- this person , the girl , is maybe in the starting period when u dont know many things about vegan diet , or , she really is a fool in the kitchen and doesnt know the basics

Tinpot
Community Member
3 years ago

Okay, but she made a bit of a deal about it. Asked the guy to change gloves. But then when she knew the mayo wasn't vegan she added it to her sandwich anyway. That's not a vegan in the starting period. That's a person following a trend because she thinks it's fashionable.

Load More Replies...
noitall man
Community Member
3 years ago

This comment is hidden. Click here to view.

Shouldn't even be eating at Subway if you are vegan... What is the point if you are too dumb to understand the one thing you are making a big deal about...

Kiahna
Community Member
3 years ago

Why not? Subway does have vegan options you know... let her eat whatever she likes!

Load More Replies...
Don Jon
Community Member
3 years ago

This comment is hidden. Click here to view.

girl sounds like one of those fake pretentious fart sniffing fad vegans.

Betty Rubble
Community Member
3 years ago

This comment is hidden. Click here to view.

How can you tell someone is vegan? They tell you over and over and over. I love when a self-righteous little twits get put in their place

birdhouse
Community Member
3 years ago

Good on the Subway guy for respectfully letting her know.

Honesty Olishia
Community Member
3 years ago

Yeah, I'm really tired of hearing long stories like this where people rattle off insults at each other just to prove a point.

Load More Replies...
criminalgirl
Community Member
3 years ago

No, it has egg yolks in it, not whites.

Cesi Baca
Community Member
3 years ago

Yes exactly, it’s egg yokes! and I believe bread dough is made with eggs as well Lol. Subway is really not the place for a vegan, veggie sandwich or not. The worker may have changed gloves, but other gloves that touched meat that day already touched the lettuce, touched the tomatoes, touched the cucumber etc. It’s a vegan nightmare really.

Load More Replies...